Community

Login to post to the forum. Not a member? Sign up and get your first month for $1!

Google Authorship and Getting Images to Post With Recipes

RankRank

Total Posts: 11

Joined 2013-02-02

PM

Hi all,

I recently signed up (or so I thought) for Google Authorship. I’m still learning the importance of becoming a Google-verified author, and am told it takes time. Bottom line: Can anyone out there help me with the following?

1. How do I go about getting my picture to show up next to my blog’s homepage listing in Google search results?

2. (And more importantly), how do I get my recipe pictures to show up next to my recipes in Google search results?

Google’s amazing, but continues to confuse me, so if anyone has explanations or instructions in very simple language, I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks!

-Allison

Allison Robinson
http://www.cuisineous.com/

RankRankRank

Total Posts: 54

Joined 2013-02-01

PM

I recall Bjork discussing this somewhere. I think it was in a Pinch Of Yum income report. As far as having the recipe photo show up the way I do it is by using zip list recipe plugin which recognizes Google rich snippet. However I’ve noticed that some photos show in search and some do not. Maybe Bjork can add his 2 cents.

RankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 767

Joined 2013-01-22

PM

Hey Allison. Let’s start with the Google Authorship. I checked your site and confirmed that the necessary code isn’t there yet.

There are lots of different ways to do this. We’ll use the Wordpress SEO plugin, as I noticed that you have that installed.

1. In WordPress, click on Users > Your Profile. Paste your Google+ URL into that Google+ field. Click “Update Profile”.
2. In WordPress, click on SEO > Titles & Meta. Select the Home tab. Select your profile in the “Author highlighting” field. Click “Save Settings”.
3. In Google+, click on “Profile” and then scroll down to “Links”. Click Edit. Add your blog URL under in “Contribute to” area and click “Save”.